rifle won't reassemble, please advise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

rifle won't reassemble, please advise

I'm pretty new to the world of the m1 garand, but I love this thing! I'm not trained professionally, but I shoot beautifully with this rifle.

My rifle is in excellent shape, works well and is currently very clean. Summer of 2019 I took it to the range and dumped a full can through it. I then proceeded to snake the bore, oil it a few times, and keep it in my vehicle while I trekked all over the country through the mountains, mud, desserts coast to coast.

Then I get home, disassemble it, clean it very well over the course of about two weeks in a slightly humid basement workshop and discover that everything fits nicely except the trigger group. If I remove the stock the trigger group assembles nicely and the firearm is once again in working order.

Logic states that the gun got too hot and the fiberglass bedding applied by the previous owner expanded and now the stock is out of spec.

I can close the trigger guard to within 1/2" of fully closed at which point the mating surface of the stock, and the bottom magazine cover on the trigger group are completely plumb. Logic states that I must file out the fiberglass at this very spot to allow the trigger group to descend further.

I've sanded a significant portion of the fiberglass and not seen any improvement in closing distance of the trigger guard. I have mistakenly been sanding flat and after further inspection have discovered that there is a slight bevel that should be there so I will begin sanding the outer edges at an appropriate angle. Hopefully this works.

Is there something I'm missing?

Thank you for reading

STOP SANDING !!!! You are ruining the lockup of your rifle. 1/2" is normal and ensures a good lockup. Don't be afraid to force it closed, you won't break anything.

https://www.m1garandforum.com/forum/...-trigger-guard
    Check out post #7

Comment

• cloud
      cloud commented