M1D for fun gun games.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M1D for fun gun games.

Just joined up and did not find any info on my desire to have an easily mounted forward scope mount. I purchased a CMP M1D from the Talladega Marksmanship Park gun shop. I am new to Garands and want to use this rifle in the occasional multi gun matches we have here in Central Florida. I was wondering if there was a mount for a scope that used the original M1D block that was centered and in front of the magazine. I have plans to get a period correct mount and glass but would love a simple, easily removable scout type mount for the matches. The Ultimak model is a more semi-permanent option if I had a regular M1 but I am looking for a M1D mount. Any info appreciated.

Sorry but I never heard of a mount that you desire. The only true over the bore non scout mount that the know of is the S&K mount. With the S&K mount you must remove the rear sights as it mounts thru the receiver ears.

Comment

Like RDS, I never heard of a mount that does what you want on a M1D. There are mounts that replace the front hand guard on regular garands that would handle scout scopes, but those mounts won't fit on a M1D.
      Last edited by jak; 10-11-2018, 10:17 PM.

Comment

It seems like it would be a simple affair to use the M1D mounting block to mount a section of picatinny rail over the chamber leaving the action open for enbloc loading. Must not be a lot of M1D shooters out there wanting to put a non traditional mount on the rifle to make it a viable product. I am not in a position to have one custom made. I was hoping others beat me to it. Thanks for the info.

Comment