Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1943 Springfield Garand. What do I have?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1943 Springfield Garand. What do I have?

I just picked up a Garand from the CMP yesterday. I have been doing a lot of reading, but I am a bit of a novice here and I figured I would post here to see what additional information y'all may be able to provide. Here's the basic run down:

Receiver: Springfield Armory S/N: 1378XXX, dates February 1943
    Lower portion of the receiver S7B, D28291 17, stamped VV with a diamond (picture below)
    Barrel: 3-S-A-1-43
    Trigger group: D28290-8-SA
    Hammer: C46008-1 WRA
    Safety: SA-11
    Bolt: D28287-19SA, A-7, dates 1944
    Op rod: D35382 3 SA, no relief cut
    Stock: P proof mark and an RA-P cartouche, painted rack number of 23
    Rear sight: locking bar style correct for the age
    Trigger guard: milled
    Follower: milled

Current conclusions: It was a 1943 SA Garand. The RP-A on the stock indicates it went through Raritan Armory and the -P indicates Peterson. Apparently these rebuilds occurred up until August of 1947. With the bolt being a 1944 and the receiver and barrel matching, my current conclusion is that this rifle was rebuilt sometime between 44-47. From my understanding Winchester only made Garands during the war.

Questions:
    Does anyone have any additional information about Raritan rebuilds? I know the barrel was not swapped, but the hammer is a Winchester meaning at some point the hammer was swapped most likely at Raritan since if was an SA rebuild it would have an SA hammer.
    Did Raritan get Garands back from overseas and proceed to replace worn parts and throw in whatever they had available, or perhaps was this a field replacement?
    With the op rod not having a relief cut does this infer an earlier rebuild or did some just slip through the cracks?