Reloading Question for Garand

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reloading Question for Garand

I am new to the Garand forum. Pretty experienced shooter and reloader primarily for handgun loads. I've got a Garand on order which will hopefully be here by Christmas. So, I need to start collecting components for reloading I have a Dillon 550 and need advice on dies, powder, primers and projectiles. Plus, any formulae that have worked for experienced reloaders in 30-06.
    Thanks in advance for any help & advice!

Originally posted by Wenatchee Kid View Post
    I am new to the Garand forum. Pretty experienced shooter and reloader primarily for handgun loads. I've got a Garand on order which will hopefully be here by Christmas. So, I need to start collecting components for reloading I have a Dillon 550 and need advice on dies, powder, primers and projectiles. Plus, any formulae that have worked for experienced reloaders in 30-06.
    Thanks in advance for any help & advice!
    A properly maintained Garand is easy to load for. I use RCBS dies, a 150 grain Hornady spire point, 40 to 45 grain of H4895 powder, (39 to 44 grain H4320) will work. Extraction should be between 1 and 2 oclock looking over the sights. Start low and see how the loads go. I use CCI large rifle primers.

I've been loading for over 50 years and I've had very good success with 165, 173 and 180 grain projectiles. Powders IMO no faster than 4064 and no slower than 4320 unless you're real experienced.

I recommend extruded powders as the moderate loads of the Garand have lower case density and ball powders can be IMO to low a case density unless you're running near a maximum load.

Comment

• Venom6
      Venom6 commented
      Editing a comment